Association News

Recent news and developments from the waste and environmental services industry.

NWRA announces 2022 industry leadership awards

Logo courtesy of NWRA


The Arlington, Virginia-based National Waste & Recycling Association (NWRA) has announced its 2022 Membership Award winners across three categories for their contributions in support of the waste and recycling industry and the association. 

Members of the Year are selected based on extraordinary service to the mission and goals of NWRA and the industry over the past year, while Chapter Leadership awards are given to members who made notable contributions at the chapter level.

Distinguished Service awards are presented to longstanding members of NWRA who render service in pursuit of the association’s mission and goals.

Service Member of the Year was awarded to Shelley Sayward of Rutland, Vermont-based Casella Waste Systems, who has been involved in fighting for the association’s major issues in New York, Vermont, New Hampshire, Maine, Massachusetts and Connecticut. She helped in a successful fight to keep Vermont’s bottle bill from passing and stood against HB 1454 in New Hampshire, which required a buffer between landfills and bodies of water. Sayward also was a constant in leading the fight on extended producer responsibility. She now is in her first term as the vice chair of NWRA’s Government Affairs Committee.

Martin Mattsson of Shippensburg, Pennsylvania-based Volvo Construction Equipment North America was awarded Suppliers Member of the Year. He was selected for leading committees and volunteering on the Supplier Board of Governors and for supporting NWRA’s Future Industry Leaders Alliance.

Indiana Chapter Chair Brad Eisenhart of Houston-based WM was recognized with the Chapter Leadership award. He first took over the unexpired term from a chair who moved to a different state and has since been a “steady hand on the wheel of the chapter,” the NWRA says. He has helped the group successfully navigate many legislative and regulatory challenges the industry has faced over the past year.

The Distinguished Service award was given to Pete Keller of Republic Services Inc., Phoenix, who chaired the recycling committee from its formation in 2013 until the end of 2021, when his term ended. During his time as chairperson, Keller led the committee through multiple crises, ranging from China’s Green Fence, National Sword and Blue Sky initiatives to COVID-19 pandemic challenges.

The Suppliers Distinguished Service award went to Mike McLaughlin of McLaughlin Family Cos./New Way Trucks, Scranton, Iowa. McLaughlin has supported the industry by volunteering on boards and committees such as the Supplier Board of Governors, NWRA says. He and McLaughlin Family Cos./New Way Trucks continue to provide financial support to NWRA and the industry.

“Our member companies and their employees are the strength of NWRA,” NWRA President and CEO Darrell Smith says. “Without [their] leadership and contributions, NWRA would not be the leading association in the waste industry.”

Read Next


September 2022
Explore the September 2022 Issue

Check out more from this issue and find you next story to read.

Share This Content